miss riebeek 2017

BY By Sinovuyo Madlavu

For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others; for beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness; and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.
Audrey Hepburn
Riebeek College Girls’ High School held their annual Miss Riebeek pageant on 11 May 2017. This year was particularly special in that one of the adjudicators was Mrs Noni Agcobile Mbete, who matriculated from Riebeek College Girls’ High School in 2008 and is the current Mrs Africa World 2017. 
The theme of Miss Riebeek 2017 was Vogue. The pageant kicked off with the junior section whose theme was Egyptian Vogue. The junior contestants walked the runway with grace and cheer; each showing off their unique, themed outfits. Finally, the winners were: Abrenea Booysen (Miss Ribeek Junior), Callan Elie (1st Princess) and Unako Ndigaye (2nd Princess). 
Next was the Teen section; themed Vogue Paris. The teens came out and strutted with such poise and confidence; making choosing the winners no easy task. After showcasing their class, the following girls were crowned: Aphelele Toyis (Miss Riebeek Teen), Andisiwe Toyis (1st Princess) and Khiran Butt (2nd Princess).
Finally, the senior section, themed Vogue New York, took to the runway. Unlike the other sections, seniors have a casual-wear and formal-wear section, followed by a question-answer section. After an exhibition of style, sophistication and eloquence, winners were selected. Jamie-Lee Daniels (Miss Riebeek Senior), Chene Simon (1st Princess) and Malakhiwe Hoffman (2nd Princess) were crowned. In the senior section, there is also a Miss Legs and Miss Personality. The winners were: Anovuyo Singeni (Miss Legs) and Mia Muller (Miss Personality). A special thanks to the senior escorts: Neo Pepeta, Slade Baron, Siphosethu Toyis and Aakief Salie. 
Special mention must be made of the adjudicators: Gail Brown the founder and owner of a successfully model agency called Sophisticate Models which was started in 1988. Currently they have 195 registered models and 12 models placed in Cape Town agencies. She also assists children with self esteem and self confidence development. Mr  Ebrahim Wicks works for the Department of Higher Education.  He has achieved many modelling titles during his career: FACE OF PATENE, MR SA LEATHER, TOP MODEL SA, FACE OF SOUTH AFRICA.  Noni Agcobile Mbete matriculated from Riebeek College and is a Senior Business Manager at a banking firm.  She a versatile business woman that holds the title of Mrs Africa World 2017. She has an intense passion for Women and Children and founded The Resolute Women Campaign which mentors and supplies under privileged girls with matric dance dresses in order to give these girls the fairy tale experience they deserve. Thank you for taking the time out of very busy schedules to attend the Miss Riebeek pageant.
Thank you to the Dance Committee and especially the teachers for their tireless work to make Miss Riebeek 2017 a truly successful night.
Opening Performance: London
Welcome by Masters of Ceremony: Sive Marola, Sanelisiwe Jikeka And Lelona Myira
Miss Riebeek Junior
Lucky Draw
Crowning Of Miss Riebeek Junior
Entertainment: Dance Committee
Miss Riebeek Teen
Lucky Draw
Crowning Of Miss Riebeek Teen
Miss Legs
Entertainment: Siyavuya Moyake
Miss Riebeek Senior: Casual Wear
Crowning Of Miss Legs
Miss Riebeek Senior: Formal Wear
Dance Committee: Walk The Ramp Fashion Show
Top 5 is Announced and Interviewed
 Entertainment: Kallus Crew
Crowning Of Miss Personality and Miss Riebeek

All the Riebeek staff and parents who helped with                                Miss Riebeek 2017
Our Awesome Adjudicators: Gail Brown, Ebrahim Wicks, Noni Agcobile Mbete (Mrs Africa World)
Olwethu Dlutu – profile compilation
Phelisa Kosi, Sarah Werth, Gitaney Van Staden, Keziah Brandt – sound and lighting
Neo Pepeta, Siphosethu Toyis, Aakief Salie and Slade Baron - gentlemen gracing our ramp
LONDON, KALLUS CREW, Siyavuya Moyake - entertainment
Miss Junior Riebeek 2016:  S Saul; Miss Teen Riebeek 2016: J Kayser;  Miss Legs 2016: M Langford;  Miss Personality 2016: N Koester;  Miss Riebeek 2016: C Booysen.
                                                Media Club
Mr K. Weidemann
Miss Arthur – Flower Arrangements
Riebeek School Prefects
Grade 11 Register Class Teachers
Jay’s Florists
A big thank you to all our sponsors. 
All donations are greatly appreciated.

  1. Van Jaarsveld; G. Hardman; R.Wilkinson; U. Ndiaye; A. Booysen; A. Gqubule; S. Mayake; E. Pezisa; L. Kasibe; S. Tshete; J. Wicomb; J. Daba; L. Labercensie; C.Elie; S.Butt; S. Van Jaarsveld; L. Nogampula; K Keyser; A.Toyis; L.Mboya; P. Madlavu; A. Toyis; K.Minaar; K.Butt; T.Boswell; S .Transell; C.Simon; M. Hoffman;  C. Minnies; H. Raynes ; L Muhammed; A .Douw; A. Thys;S. Ndyenga;Q. Mata;M. Muller; C.Van Rensburg; J . Daniels.C. Terablanchè; M.Clinga; M. Boyce; A. Afrika; C. Labercensie;  Z. Meinjies; A. Bush; A Finnis; A. Hobani; K.  Brant; Q. Mnyazi;  S. Goboza; O. Somnandi; P. Mrelane

Dance Committee :
Aziwe Booi; Omhle Bissett; Phumza Mandla; Sinovuyo Madlavu; Chulumanco Mayi; Shannon Butler; Drew Minter; Mateenah Langford; Olwethu Dlutu; Octavia Johannes; Aton De Vos; Lumka Matutu; Tammy Jafta; Zamakhuma Makwabe.


 May 15, 2017
Comments (0)
2017 continued
By Sinovuyo Madlavu

Leave a comment

Keep me updated?

Comments are moderated.
Be the first person to comment.

latest news...

OK / Close
Who doesn't like cookies?
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. Read more...